cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

Controller Input Lag

I've played with keyboard and mouse, and dualshock on PC. I've used the dualshock on my Android phone via Bluetooth (which works great btw for travel playing). But when I use the Stadia controller with the Chromecast, the input lag is MASSIVE! It's impossible to aim on tomb raider making it unplayable. For timing I have to preemptively press the button to get the time right. Red Dead Redemption 2 is just as bad but it's less noticable because it has aim assist

I'm a big tech person and software engineer and have the latest in tech with way more than adequate internet connection. The router is only an few feet away from the controller. 

Update: I reduced the lag by plugging it directly into the TV. I had it hooked into my Onkyo media receiver. It's at least playable now but the lag still VERY noticable. 

3 Kudos
8 Replies
Highlighted
Community Member

Maybe on tv its 4k and on your pc 1080p? The input lag on my sony tv is much higher in 4k then in 1080p?! And yes reciever is one reason for input lag. Had the same problem with my ps4 and a donon reciever in the past. EDIT: Today i recieved my chromecast. First connetced it to my sony tv. Huge sound delay i destiny. My tv is connected to a denon reciever. Then i connected the chromecast direcrly to my reciever. Much better. Playing with stadia controller feels more laggy then yesterday qith wired xbox controller on pc chrome browser. Maybe because my router is i. The next room?. And my 2015 sony tv has much more input lag in 4k/hdr then in 1080p...so its not all stadia problem. I should test to run the games in 1080p without hdr and see if it feels still more laggy with the stadia controller....compared to xbox 360 controller/bluetooth.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Community Member